Out & About: MTV Africa Music Awards 2014


It’s MTV Africa Music Awards season again and we shouldn’t expect any less from the production. The show is set to be on our very own soil this coming weekend in KZN with a mixture of Africa and International acts lined up to amaze.
The awards that have been handed out since 2008, showcase blazing hot artists from all over Africa and for the first time ever, the awards will be premiering live across Africa on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) and MTV (DStv Channel 130) at 21:00.
The MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA) will take place at the Durban International Convention Centre (ICC) on June 7 2014. The awards are a celebration of African music, and Durban is set to see some of the biggest stars in the business descend on the ICC.
International R&B star Trey Songz will be performing, along with Miguel, hip hop superstar French Montana and some of Africa’s top talent including Nigerian hit-makers David Flavour and Tiwa Savage, and South African musical royalty Mafikizolo, Uhuru, Oskido and Professor.
Non music artists are also shown some love for making their own lane this year with the Personality of the year category, with nominees including Chimamanda Adiche, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Trevor Noah, Lupita Nyong’o and Yaya Toure.
Stand-up comic, film and television star Marlon Wayans will host the MAMAs, which will be broadcast globally on MTV, MTV Base, BET International and affiliate stations.
Hundreds of thousands of votes have already been cast, and public voting for the 2014 MAMAs continues online at http://www.mtvbase.com until midnight on June 4.
Tickets for the 2014 MTV Africa Music Awards KwaZulu-Natal are on sale at http://www.computicket.com.
Seated tickets cost R450 while general access tickets are R200.

The MAMA (MTV Africa Music Awards) nominations in full:


Best Male:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Donald (South Africa)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Chidinma (Nigeria)
DJ C’ndo (South Africa)
Efya (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Best Group:
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act:
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Heavy K (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Stanley Enow (Cameroon)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Best Live Act:
2face (Nigeria)
Fally Ipupa (DRC)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Dr Malinga (South Africa)
Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)

Best Collaboration:
Amani ft Radio and Weasel – Kiboko Changu (Kenya/Uganda)
Diamond feat Davido – Number One (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat May D – Happiness (South Africa/Nigeria)
R2bees feat Wizkid – Slow Down (Ghana/Nigeria)
Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – Y-tjukutja (South Africa/Angola)

Artist of the Year:
Davido (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
P Square (Nigeria)
Uhuru (South Africa)

Song of the Year:
Davido- Skelewu (Nigeria)
DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – Pluto (Remember Me) (South Africa)
DJ Ganyani feat FB – Xigubu (South Africa)
DJ Kent feat The Arrows – Spin My World Around (South Africa)
Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – Surulere (Nigeria)
KCee – Limpopo (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo feat Uhuru – Khona (South Africa)
Mi Casa- Jika (South Africa)
P Square – Personally (Nigeria)
Yuri Da Cunha – Atchu Tchu Tcha (Angola)

Best Hip Hop:
AKA (South Africa)
Ice Prince (Nigeria)
Khuli Chana (South Africa)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Sarkodie (Ghana)

Best Pop:
Danny K (South Africa)
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Goldfish (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Mathew Mole (South Africa)

Best Alternative:
Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)
Michael Lowman (South Africa)
Nakhane Toure (South Africa)
Parlotones (South Africa)
Shortstraw (South Africa)

Best Francophone:
Arielle T (Gabon)
Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)
Ferre Gola (DRC)
Toofan (Togo), Youssoupha (Congo)

Best Lusophone:
Anselmo Ralph (Angola)
JD (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)


Personality of the Year:
Chimamanda Adiche (Nigeria)
Omotola Jalade Ekeinde (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)

Transform Today by Absolut:
Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)
Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
Leti Arts (Ghana)
Rasty (South Africa)

More categories and performers are to be announced soon.

Compiled by: Zanele Mash
Sources: http://www.iol.co.za/tonight/music/top-stars-for-mtv-africa-music-awards-1.1696800

Fierce, Fun-loving and Funky!

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: